Good Morning

Qualm
via Daily Prompt: Qualm

 

On my drop-off at school every day,

I notice the teacher has nothing to say

to my good mornings or have a good day.

I wonder if I’m not pleasant enough?

Or if my greeting comes off too gruff?

 

One day I went in a little too much,

and by her reaction I was totally crushed.

I shouted good morning loud and clear,

a little too loud, but everyone could hear.

With a frown and a smirk she just walked away.

 

I continue every morning to say –

‘Good morning teacher, have a good day!’

But still no response since the start of the school year.

 

Sometimes I pretend that I don’t even care,

when to other parents I can clearly hear –

‘Good morning, good morning and how are you today?’

 

It’s almost June and the school year ends soon,

So even though she ignores me

and sometimes the feeling gores me,

I have no qualms when I tell Miss Fell –

‘Good morning, Good morning!’ (until the school year ends).

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    This is a good one. I taught and worked with Head Start and Pre-K classes. There was one particular teacher who refused to speak to me. I knew I had not done anything, at least, not to my knowledge…to upset her. I didn’t even know her. She never gave me a chance. But from day one, she refused to speak or return a “hello” or “good morning” in my direction.
    By the middle of the school year, I decided to ask her if I had done anything to upset her and she replied “no..” so I continued to kill her with kindness and praised her talents. By the end of the year, she was speaking… Barely, but was speaking.
    I eventually moved out of state and said my goodbyes. She was a Facebook friend but I eventually deleted her. I didn’t need a friend like that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. MelC876 says:

      I though about asking this teacher but decided against it in the best interest of my child.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Laura says:

        I agree! But you did the right thing. I know some teachers seem to be “stuck up” to parents and other teachers and not quite sure where it comes from. I just chalk it up to being insecure and move on. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You are a very nice person and she is rude. You are doing the right thing. Perhaps she can only relate to children and is uncomfortable interacting with adults. This is extreme. I hope she’s a good teacher. Perhaps her feeling is if she acknowledges one parent she will have to do it with all. Some taking too much time away from her classroom time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

