Bitter

Bitter
via Daily Prompt: Bitter

She was bitter and had every right to be.

So she took to social media and aired everything.

To get sympathy, understanding, release and revenge; because someone was sure to be on.

It felt good! – ‘not until I’m dead’, ‘one and only’, ‘’swifey’ – so many were tuned in.

The comments came in – ‘fight for it’, ‘yes’, ‘bright’, over 100 likes – cheerleaders.

For a while it was solved or so it seemed, online support so quickly swells the head.

New ring, new promises, fresh air, blue skies, flowers, beaches and fresh paint on dirty walls.

 

 

 

Soon after she goes back to being bitter.

So she deletes her social media accounts and hides everything.

To bottle the shame, misunderstandings, fear and hurt; because someone was sure to hear.

It felt heart-wrenching – ‘I don’t need this’, ‘I have my girl’, ‘I can do better’ – so many were laughing.

The whispering started – ‘so disrespectful’, ‘no self-esteem’, ‘such a shame’, private chats – naysayers.

Years expecting change; meaningful, permanent change and change came but it remained the same.

Same shit, broken promises, polluted air, summer floods, empty vases and his bitter wandering tongue.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Vivian Zems says:

    I really like this. This word- bitter- really gets you to dig into deep and messy stuff. Well written cos you got me in the same room with her! (Read-a-portation😎)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love your writing style. 👍☺

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Vivian Zems says:

    I’ve nominated you for One Lovely Blogger Award- check my post:
https://smellthecoffeeweb.blog/2017/05/16/one-lovely-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Vivian Zems says:

        You’re welcome 😊

        Like

  4. Ahhh, the downside of social media! Come visit my blog and check out “I don’t need you”. Messy is no fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

